Bubble tea originated from Taiwan in the heady days of the 1980s. Traditionally, it’s a type of milk tea with tapioca pearls (or boba) which has evolved over time into a dazzling array of flavours and textures.
Tapioca pearls or boba are small beads of tapioca but a chewy, gummy bears texture that are added to drinks to enhance its flavor. Tapioca pearl is a starch extracted from Cassava plant which makes the pearl gluten-free and almost protein-free. We cook our tapioca fresh every day and it takes close to 60 minutes to prepare just one batch of tapioca.
Yes – our drinks do contain sugar, as do some of the toppings. We’re happy to make recommendations on drinks and toppings to suit your dietary needs. Feel free to tell our friendly Barista that you’d like half or zero sugar/sweetness level, and they’d be happy to help!
In short, yes! All our drinks and toppings are vegetarian. And around 95% of our menu is vegan friendly or can be made to be vegan. All our toppings are vegan and our fruit jellies are made with coconut water and contain no gelatine. Our milk drinks can be made with Organic Soya, Organic Almond or Oatly Oat Milk. And the list keeps growing!
Definitely! You can customise the sweetness level, the ice level as well as pick your favourite toppings for your Bubble Tea.